Update / 2009

It was good to go home. Good to have the little kids clamoring to sit by me, have piles of snow out the window, talks with my Mom and Dad, visiting with other family… It is a little strange going home, because I have been there so little in the past 15 months and everything goes on without me, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. This break I think I spent more time on the phone than I have in the same period my entire life…it is amazing how you will change when you miss someone. 🙂 I also picked up a cold for the past week that I was there–I think I am just about over it now.

I usually write a post on New Years, but this year didn’t really feel like it or know what to say. I found out the extent of the situation that I asked for prayers for the day before; all I can say is please keep praying for my family. For a long time.

Yesterday Daniel and I went walking/hiking. It is a really nice and pretty area that is only 2 miles away from the apartments! We will go back many times, I am sure. Now there is both Mirimar Lake and Rancho Penasquitos Canyon where we can go to get away from the constant noise of people and the city. I always liked walking, and am learning how much I enjoy hiking. Although I get nervous when there are stones in mud on a steep incline, the view from higher up is worth it. Pictures cannot do it justice.

Today classes start again. It is really weird to have afternoon classes without any morning classes–I haven’t had this schedule in quite a while, and it is the first time to have multiple days that this is the case. I was not sure if I like it or not, because while it is nice to have the morning to do homework, adoration and other things, I am more likely to have a hard time staying awake in class. Perhaps if I run or do jumping jacks before class I will be okay…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2008 was an interesting year. I frequently looked back on my resolution and worked on it, but it often seemed like I failed. I guess I will just have to keep trying. It was a long, full, hard, happy year. Although many things stayed the same, even more changed and I think I have grown and matured because of it. Perhaps despite my daily struggles, I may become a lady someday.

In 2009 I hope to become more childlike. I want to see the wonder of life around me, trust that everything is in the Father’s Hands, uplift those with whom I come in contact with a smile, and live each day with a mature carefreeness that bespeaks the unshakeable trust that a joyful woman united to Christ should have. I want to fulfill every day by completing my duties and living in the moment.

On a less important level, I want to become better at cooking so as to have more variety in meals I can serve. I want to brush up on some of my sewing skills. I want to regularly walk and work out (though not for purposes of losing weight!). There are many more things I can think of that I would like to do, but are not practical to list as they will never get done. So I will end.

May God bless and Mary keep you all!

Leave a Reply

