Update, prayers, and thoughts

I have so much to do and think about, but since it has been more than two weeks since I really wrote anything, I will put a few thoughts down. Holy Mass, homework, and class are the primary claims on my time lately. It seems like it will never end, but I am also afraid that it will. There is so much work to be done in the next few weeks, it isn’t even funny. Thank goodness for Thanksgiving break…

My Mom came out to visit for a week. She got here on the 11th and left on the 18th. Although I had to do homework for a lot of the time she was here, we also did some fun things. We stayed near the Mission de Alcala which is the first mission in California. She got to to see all the crazy things I do and people I associate with, as well as talking and such. On Saturday we went to the beach, and on Sunday we went to Old Town with Daniel’s family. It was quite enjoyable! Saturday was also the JP Catholic Gala–where we all got dressed up for a formal dinner.  It was fun to “make myself pretty”…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
A couple of prayer requests:

-For Sue, the mother of a student here at JP Catholic. She found out she has cancer, and it is so bad that they are not doing treatment. Please pray for her and her whole family…and the prolife movement here in San Diego. She has led a lot of the prolife initiatives here, and so she knows and has impacted a lot of people.

-For this family … it is a friend of a friend in Illinois. Please pray for the souls of the mother and two kids, and for the father as he deals with the loss.

-For two special intentions, that I cannot appropriately give details here. 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I have been thinking lately how grateful I should be. In our theology class, we have talked a lot about how God Is, He is existence, and we are held in being by His will. By nature, we are lower than the angels; but through the Incarnation we have been called to partake of God’s life by nothing but His grace. Everything I have ever had is a gift, everything I can give back will still be less than we “owe”. So, I will strive to give Him everything, to grow closer to Him, and hopefully He will use me to touch others’ lives. I feel like I have such a great opportunity here in my blog to touch lives that I don’t even know of, but because of a lack of time…I neglect it. Please pray for me, I am praying for each of you.

One thought on “Update, prayers, and thoughts

  1. Claire says:

    Lisa, thanks for your prayers for the Jahn family. It is truly beautiful how the body of Christ unites in the face of that kind of tragedy!

    You are in my thoughs and prayers often. And happy belated birthday! A number of my friends/one time pen pals have November birthdays, so I do remember you even though I rarely send greetings on time. 🙂

    By the way, your blog header photo is just lovely! I’m not sure how long you’ve had it since I usually read your posts on bloglines, but I love it.

    Peace and blessings!
    Claire

Leave a Reply

