Beginning of summer!

I asked for prayers, and you must have obliged me quickly! The past couple days have been pleasant. This week I have been trying to adapt for the time change ahead of time, so that I can get up at a decent hour when I lose two hours on Tuesday. So, I have been trying to go to bed at 10-10:15pm every night, and get up at 6:15am every morning this week. I have managed most of the time.

Thursday I awoke at 6:15am with the pessimistic view that if I was really lucky I could get half of my marketing final done by noon, spend time with other students here in the afternoon and evening, and then *hopefully* finish the marketing final this morning. I was blessedly wrong. I finished the final in less than two hours, and had time to talk and laugh with my roommate (Andrea), make banana bread, do laundry, and do a bit of dishes and cleaning–all before noon! Andrea and I discussed some things about the household that we are starting, we said farewell to another of our suite-mates, and I went through some books and paperwork. At about 3pm, we went down to the pool. Daniel swam, Andrea & I took pictures, and we all talked and laughed. Then Andrea & I sang in the stairwell while waiting for Daniel to get ready and we all went to 5:30pm Mass. After Mass there was more singing in the stairwell, followed by a trip to the beach.

A funny incident happened when we were about to leave. Andrea forgot to grab a sweatshirt, so she ran upstairs…Daniel and I were standing on the sidewalk. He put his arms on my shoulders, hands clasped at the back of my neck. Someone started coming down the sidewalk, and I thought I knew where I was on the sidewalk–and started stepping backwards to move out of the way. The problem was, I was about a foot off–which resulted in my stepping off the sidewalk, losing my balance, and falling backwards into the bushes! It was hilarious and awkward…the guy coming down the sidewalk started laughing as well, and as a result I laughed even harder. My laughter was prolonged as we walked towards the car, because there was a cat in one of the apartment windows. We all stopped and talked to it. The ridiculousness of what we were saying made us all laugh in turn–then we continued on our merry way.

On Friday, I caught up on reading some blogs that I neglected in the past couple of weeks. One that I enjoyed the most was “A Maiden’s Wreath“. It was nice to be reminded of my own dreams that get pushed to the side in the busyness of school. Sometime over break I hope to write a post on such things… After Andrea left and I finished running some errands, Daniel & I left to go to Mass at the Cathedral downtown. Then we wandered around Old Town for a bit, went to Coronado Island, and finished off the day by planning the rest of our lives. It was most amusing and very fun. 😀

Yesterday I went to morning Mass, did more baking, and then talked for the majority of the day. I chatted with several people online, called home, and talked to a few of the people still here. Last night I was invited to watch “Meet Joe Black” in the resident director’s apartment. I was originally planning on only staying for a bit, but was quite confused and wanted to see how it turned out–so I didn’t get back to my apartment until almost 1am. This morning I walked to and from Mass with a few other students. Other than that I have just been catching up on things around the apartment.

And so ends the longest post in quite awhile. Time to go do some dishes!

One thought on “Beginning of summer!

  1. Daniel J. says:

    Well, I must say, this post is quite amazing.

    The fun behind it was even more so!

    I think there needs to be a show of some kind… 😀

Leave a Reply

