Today

Today was a beautiful day.

It didn’t start off the greatest, but improved as the day went by. I woke around 7am to do some hurried cleaning for room checks and last minute homework before running out the door to walk to school. The beginning of our first class was hard for me to follow, but I think I am starting to get the hang of it; the second half wasn’t as bad. Then we hurried to get the classroom ready for Mass. I am the assistant sacristan, and so I carry a candle to the chapel to bring the Eucharist back for Holy Communion…every so often there are moments in which I realize the awesomeness of what I have the privilege of doing. I carry the lamp before the King; St. Patrick’s prayer “Christ before me, Christ behind me, Christ all around me…” went through my head as we returned the Blessed Sacrament to the Tabernacle, and it holds completely true. Christ was before me in the Tabernacle, behind me in the Ciborium, and within me since I had just consumed the Eucharist. Such a thought brings immense joy!

Our second class starts immediately following Holy Mass. We were discussing the early Church Fathers, and we discussed St. Polycarp. Then we watched Pope Benedict XVI’s address to the Bishops over EWTN Live. During the entire discourse I was extremely excited and happy. So happy, in fact, that I ran to the chapel as soon as class was over–and then skipped and laughed in the parking lot. The excitement runs high because of being part of the Church, the Mystical Body of Christ, as well as being part of the United States of America. And being a young person, with so much before us to influence…hope that it can be done, with much prayer and sacrifice…that I can be one person that God uses to bring blessing to the world, His beautiful creation. God is so good…

When we left, Daniel took me to see a pond that he recently discovered. We had just begun walking when two little boys enlisted our assistance in getting their boat our of the water. They were there with their Mom and little brother, and the remote controlled boat had run low on its only fuel–batteries. As a result, it had become stranded, out of reach. We helped them dig up rocks to throw and create waves to bring it to one of the shores of the pond, finally being successful. However, it was so much fun to all parties involved, that the rock digging and throwing continued. We talked in the midst of the activities, and had a lovely time.

Now I am writing…and glowing from overwhelming happiness…and know not what to say now except:

So faith, hope, love remain, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

Pray and work for intimacy with Christ, and you will be surprised with what He sends you!

One thought on “Today

  1. Steve says:

    Wow, Lisa. This WAS a beautiful day.

    The pendulum is swinging back. We had the solemnity of Lent, and all that came with it. Now during Easter, you’re being given cause to celebrate. God is so good.

Leave a Reply

