Lent

Yesterday was Ash Wednesday, and so starts the season of lent. Several of us went to the 5pm Mass in the evening–the church was packed! Even the standing room was full. The parking lot isn’t large enough, so there was a lot of traffic. Mass got out at about 6:15, and at 6:30 we were still sitting in the parking lot and had not gone anywhere. By the time we started leaving, people were coming in for the 7pm Mass. We got back to the apartments (a 10 minute drive) at about 7pm…the time was much longer than our Masses at home.

Lent is a time to challenge ourselves to grow closer to God, by sacrificing those things that we have grown too attached to, and replace them with strivings to grow closer to Christ. I decided to take the opportunity to get my priorities back in order and practice discipline in several areas that have been slipping. Recreational internet (website jumping, YouTube, Facebook…) is going and instead my focus will be on reading Scripture, getting my homework done ahead of time, and catching up on some correspondence. I also decided to sleep at night. After going to sleep at 12:30…1…2…3am too many nights in a row, I resolved that I will go to bed right after night prayer, which is over at about 11pm. I discussed it with a few other students, and it morphed into the idea of having breakfast together every morning during lent. Research was done, food was purchased, the word was spread…and this morning we had our first breakfast. The food is prepared by 7am, so that we can finish eating by 7:30 or so; then a bit of homework and clean up, and off to Holy Mass at 8:30am. This morning was great–there were 7 of us, and a few more joined for Mass. I hope that the effort stays alive and turns into habit! Starting off the day that way, and then sitting all together during Mass gave me a sense of unity with the rest of the students. We are all striving for one goal, and helping each other along the way.

My to-do list today is long–again. I must finish the homework for our Flash class tonight, come up with our value proposition and “secret sauce” as well as put together a comparative matrix for our business plan for tomorrow, clean a little, and I want to get a head start on next week’s homework. Then a walk over to the school, a bit of Adoration, class, a meeting with my business group, night prayer, and bed. Life is full, hard, ever-changing, and exceedingly blessed.

“Let love be genuine; hate what is evil, hold fast to what is good; love one another with brotherly affection; outdo one another in showing honor. Never flag in zeal, be aglow with the Spirit, serve the Lord. Rejoice in your hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.” ~Romans 12:9-12

3 thoughts on “Lent

  1. Robaigh says:

    Good for you, Lisa! I hope that works out.

    Blessings,

    Robaigh

  2. Mom says:

    Good for you being a leader. I hope the morning breakfast keep going.
    Love you

  3. Claire says:

    Lisa, I hope you are well! I think of you very often. Thanks for the Christmas letter, I always enjoy your updates very much!

    Wanted to let you know that I’ve tagged you for a simple blog game. It’s not complicated and the instructions are at my blog here:

    http://lily-maiden.blogspot.com/2008/02/tagged.html.

    Hope you’re having a blessed first week of Lent!

    In Christ,
    Claire

Leave a Reply

