Joy

The past month has been very full; not at all like I expected or hoped, but pleasant nonetheless. My routine has been out of whack since before finals in December. I never recovered during break or upon return. Yesterday morning was the first time that I got up at 6am since then–I now remember how much I miss getting up when it is still dark outside and having the quiet morning hours to myself. Sometimes I wish that I didn’t have to sleep, because then I could spend time with everyone in the late night hours and not worry about heavy eyelids. So much to do, so little time…

I need to step back and look at what I am thankful for. With all the musings that I share on this blog, it sometimes seems that I am always complaining and mourning for the things out of my reach. While it is true that I hold myself to exacting standards and am disappointed that I do not reach them, there are so many blessings that touch my life each day. The following are in no particular order except as they came to mind. 🙂

  • One gift that I can only dream of truly appreciating is the Eucharist. Having the opportunity to attend daily Mass, as well as having Jesus present in the Blessed Sacrament right at school is, in the truest sense of the word, awesome.
  • For all the people that care about me here at the university. For all the teachers who believe in me, sometimes more than I believe in myself; for those who are patient with me in my mistakes and silence.
  • For my many friends here who keep me laughing, humor me in my ridiculousness, help me to form better opinions, encourage me to act, put up with my stubbornness and obstinacy, appreciate my cooking, sing with me, and make me forget what time it is.
  • For my family, especially my little sister who sends me a “goodnight” message every night on instant messenger. For the formation, silliness, teasing, and all the other fond memories of when I was little, growing up in a big family.
  • For a pleasant apartment, enough food, clothes, and all the “necessities” of life.
  • For Schoenstatt. Although the Shrine is so far away, there is still the security of our Mother’s love to fall on…
  • For all my friends at home, asking how I am even though I can’t respond as often as I wish to. For the reminders that “My life goes on in endless song…”
  • For my life, with all the talents and gifts that I take for granted. A voice to sing, hands to serve, ears to listen, a heart to laugh with, a mind that enables me to do well in my studies, a reflective view that enables me to write, the ability to read, the opportunity to learn from observation, the humiliations that remind me that I am just a piece in the greater plan of God.
Leave a Reply

