What will this day be like?

I wonder. What will my future be?

I am finally packed (with the exception of the clothes I am wearing and my night prayer books). It took a lot more effort than I thought. I did not realize that I was able to put so much in a small room…and still have room to sleep! My 16 yr old brother will be getting my room, and so I had to pack away everything that I am not taking, into storage. And now the room stands empty, except for a bookshelf and a few empty hat boxes that I wish I could put somewhere, but will probably get thrown away.

 Tomorrow morning at 2:45am my Dad and I will leave our house, to make it on the bus. That is a little earlier than I like, but I’ll live. Our flight doesn’t leave until 10am, but we are flying out of the airport that is 2.5+ hours from our house. This past week has been very busy, so hopefully I will be tired enough to sleep on the bus and plane. 😀

I have such a mix of emotions…as I expected, I guess. It is so very strange to think that tomorrow this time, I will be in a very different State, to live. Does San Diego have autumn, or just perpetual autumn temperatures? I suppose I will find out. But God has blessed me this week with the beginning of the show of leaves. I have also been blessed to see stars brightly shining (the stars are more beautiful in the country than in the city; I will miss them!)…watching the sun rise…watching the sun set…having a foggy morning…having sunshine and strong wind. There is a thunderstorm forcasted for tonight, hopefully it comes ~ then I will be sure that God is spoiling me with His beautiful creation.

My little sister (Mary, 8) is finally resigned that I am going. Now she is excited because she will get two letters in the mail! Tonight I must say goodbye to my family – I am both excited/happy and sad. I will not have to put up with sibling conflicts on a daily basis anymore; I will have more independance; I will have more quiet time; and last but not least, have a greater opportunity of learning. But I will not have the rowdy parties at a moments notice with the inside jokes and constant puns…the midnight talks with my Mom…the frequent discussions on culture, America, politics (among other topics) with my Dad…the silly antics and affection of my little brother…my petite little sister to cuddle…and so on. Since some of my brothers won’t talk on the phone or computer, I probably won’t talk to them until Christmas. 😦 I guess it will give me time to write down my memories. 🙂

This morning at Holy Mass, one of the ladies (Carol) asked me to pray for her brother, who just found out that he has prostate cancer. Please pray for him (Paul), as well as her and their family.

One last request for tonight – please pray that everything goes well at the airport and with our flights. As much as I like traveling, I am always nervous that I will forget some regulation and not get past security. :-p Thank you!

I trust your might, your kindness, Mother dear; I do believe that you are always near. Schoenstatt’s great queen, O Mother Mild; I blindly trust in you and in your child.

You know the way for me, you know the time. Into your hands, I trustingly place mine. Your plan is perfect, born of perfect love; you know the way for me, that is enough.”

4 thoughts on “What will this day be like?

  1. Alain says:

    I am excited for you:D
    Relax, it will all be alright 🙂
    Will pray for you…

  2. Cyndi Baker says:

    Enjoy watching the sunsets over the ocean!

  3. excessivelydiverting says:

    Exciting!

  4. Steve says:

    Out of everything midwestern left behind, I think I miss the stars most of all.

    Packing your entire life into suitcases and boxes really is a unique experience. It takes so long, but afterwards you wonder, is that really it? Thoughts and prayers are always different during that time too.

    We’ll have to find some way of recreating a good, pun-filled, midwestern environment out here. Somehow.

    I’m glad you were brought here, my friend.

Leave a Reply

