County Fair and Visiting

The days are so long and short at the same time. I feel like I am not getting much of anything done, but the days are so full of doing things that I lose track of what happened when…

This weekend was busy. Saturday I did a lot of reading – I finished Love and Responsibility (finally!), another little booklet, and read Left to Tell. I was not intending to read as much as I did, but got so engrossed in the book that I had a hard time putting it down. :-p I also helped my Dad a little with canning tomatos – I am not sure how many I did, but overall about 63 quarts were completed. At about 11:00pm on Saturday night, my older sister (Katherine) and her boyfriend (Ryan) arrived from North Dakota. My parents and I stayed up and talked with them until almost 1am.

Sunday I went to Holy Mass, came home and ate lunch, then went to a meeting at Schoenstatt. The girls surprised me with a few games and cake after the meeting to say “goodbye”. It was fun, but it seems so strange that I will not be seeing them much in the next couple of years. 😦 Then I went to the County Fair. It took me awhile to find any of my family on the grounds! I eventually did, and spent some time looking around the exhibits, taking some pictures, talking to my family and grandparents, and went to part of the Phil Vassar concert with my grandparents, Katherine & Ryan. We talked a lot after the concert, and by the time we got home it was almost midnight! Here are some pictures from the fair – the pictures from Sunday start at picture 53.

On Monday I didn’t have to be up at any certain time, so I didn’t set my alarm. I was shocked that I slept until 9:05am – it is rare for me to sleep much past 8am, even when I am tired. I did a few odds and ends things, but the most that I really accomplished was visiting. A funny incident during the afternoon was when we were talking about the way that we think some people might die (because of health problems, etc.). David asked what we were talking about, and I said, “we are talking about dying. How do you want to die?” To which he promptly responded: “I want to dye you PINK!”

Yesterday I worked, read, and visited. My brother came over for a few hours, and it was great to have our whole family together again. We all laughed and talked for 2+ hours without any arguments at all…it was so nice. 😀

Today Katherine & Ryan left, so I said goodbye before work. I went shoe shopping after work – and I found a pair of shoes for much cheaper than I was expecting. God is blessing me with many unexpected ways to save money! Also, today David dropped a bowl full of fruit on his toe, turning it black under the nail. Tonight it hurt so bad he was crying, so I let some of the blood out by using a needle (so that the pressure would go down). He informed me that I would be a good doctor, so apparently it doesn’t hurt as much anymore. I am sure it will continue to hurt a little, but I am happy that I can make it “feel better”. LOL … I guess it is a motherly sort of satisfaction. 🙂

Please pray for my Mom – tomorrow she was going to start school for the year (5 of my siblings are homeschooled), and she isn’t feeling well. Please say that the school year gets off to a good start. Please also pray for a few special intentions. Thank you!

There is so much to think about, so much to be thankful for, so much to learn; and I wish I could write about everything. I feel like Pa Kettle when I say “I’ll get around to doing that, one of these days…” I am so busy enjoying living life, that I don’t have as much time as I’d like to write about it – but I guess I am fine with that. God has blessed me with many moments, and somedays I record some. The greatest gift, though, is having the chance to live them; and I intend to do that to the best of my ability.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is gracious, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” – Phillipians 4:8

One thought on “County Fair and Visiting

  1. Miguel says:

    I’m praying for your mom and your personal intentions Lisa
    God Bless

Leave a Reply

