Busy and blessed

I have been so busy and blessed! I have worked, spent over half of a day at Schoenstatt, gone to a few picnics, watched the preview for our new show (at Fireside), got a few things organized, sent in the final loan application for school, read, and last but not least…had many good conversations. I am so blessed to be used as an instrument in so many little ways to help in “building up” Schoenstatt. It is awesome to think about the power of prayer, little sacrifices, and small conversations.

Today I work, and then will be going out to Schoenstatt again for the weekend. We are having our yearly girls youth leaders convention, where we have some formation time and then choose our motto to use for retreats, camps, and meetings for the year. Please pray for me, as I am one of the “head” leaders in the area and so have to lead many of the discussions. It is kind of fun, but quite challenging.

Several things I have read recently have been on love. I find it very fascinating…I don’t know how people can separate (or try to separate) love from God, it makes so much more sense when it is ordered and thought about from that view. Right now I am reading John Paul II’s “Love and Responsibility”. It was hard to get through the first definitions, as I am not used to reading philosophy – but I have found the book to be very enlightening. It has presented a different way of thinking about love to me, not because of different content, but because of the difference in the way the thoughts are presented. I highly recommend the book to older highschool youth and all adults. 😀 It just might take a little work to get past the first part.

And now I must go to work – but I would like to share this list/article of what “Maturity is.” This was published in my homeschool yearbook from 9th grade (I used a program that year). I have used it as a guide and means of education; I think there is a great lack of maturity in both our youth and all adults, and we need to recognize the need to become mature, especially if we expect to grow closer to Christ. “When I was a child…when I became a man, I put aside childish things.” (1 Cor. 13:11)

Maturity is the ability to handle frustration, control anger, and settle differences without violence or destruction.

Maturity is patience. It is the willingness to postpone gratification, to pass up immediate pleasure or profit in favor of the long term gain.

Maturity is perseverance, sweating out a project or situation in spite of opposition and discouraging setbacks.

Maturity is unselfishness, responding to the needs of others.

Maturity is the capacity to face unpleasantness and disappointment without becoming bitter.

Maturity is the gift of remaining calm in the face of chaos. This means peace, not only for ourselves, but for those with whom we live and those whose lives touch ours.

Maturity is the ability to disagree without being disagreeable. Maturity is humility. A mature person is able to say, “I was wrong.” He is also able to say, “I am sorry.” And when proven right, he does not have to day, “I told you so.”

Maturity is the ability to make a decision, to act on that decision, and to accept full responsibility for the outcome.

Maturity means dependability, keeping one’s word. The immature have excuses for everything. They are the chronically tardy, the no-shows, the gutless wonders who fold in their crises. Their lives are a maze of broken promises, unfinished business, and former friends.

Maturity is the ability to live in peace with that which we can not change.

One thought on “Busy and blessed

  1. Amy W. says:

    Lisa,

    Thanks again for the beautiful meditation on the Shrine. It was wonderful to spend time there for me. The MTA always does have such peace to offer us. And it is just good to be with the youth. “Bound to the Shrine…” right?

    I wondered if you have ever read Fulton Sheen’s “Three to Get Married” or Fr. Kentenich’s “On Monday Evenings: Married Love as a Path to Sanctity.” Those are two books that I am finding particularly enlightening on that aspect of love and how wonderfully God created it and created us to love. Another wonderful book that I am reading right now is called “Searching for and Maintaining Peace” by Jacques Philipe (sp?) and it contains a great many lessons on the peace that we are to have in following God, just as Fr. Kentenich said, we are to “become a child of longing and confidence” and “Mother takes perfect care!”

    God bless you! Have a most blessed rest of the summer and beginning of school!

    Amy

Leave a Reply

