"My heart…

wants to beat like the wings of the birds
that rise from the lake to the trees
My heart wants to sigh like a chime that flies
from a church on a breeze
To laugh like a brook when it trips and falls
over stones on its way
To sing through the night like a lark who is learning to pray”

I love the song “The Sound of Music”, especially when my heart is joyful. And that has been so much lately that sometimes it seems unnatural! I have the strength to smile when things are frustrating…I laugh at the smallest things. My face has hurt so much because of my “excessive” smiling! God is so good.

Sunday was very, very nice. I went early so that I was able to spend time a little extra time in the Shrine, and it was so very good to be there again. My family also came for the day! I was able to spend a little of time with the girls that were on the retreat, had a meeting in the afternoon, and many good conversations. Here are some pictures from that day, mainly taken my Mary and David. 🙂 The flower crown in the shrine is made from flowers from all the Schoenstatt Family…there is a metal form of a crown, and everyone brings up their flowers to contribute, and some of the Sisters put them into the crown so that they will stay there. It is a beautiful tradition!

Monday my Mom and I worked on cleaning and re-organizing the office. It greatly needed to be done, and parts of the room still look “under construction” because not all the piles have been gone through. But it is nice to have a bit more room and not such a crowded feeling/look. I cleaned all the computer cords, dusted walls and surfaces, and found dust bunnies the size of quarters in several places…as a result I had a terrible headache from the dust. All in all, I think it was worth it…or will be worth it once it is totally done.

Tuesday I had an interesting conversation with two of my coworkers…although I never consider myself much of an apologist, I realized how much I enjoy talking about and explaining my Faith. I know that the work of conversion is ultimately the “job” of the Holy Spirit, so I try not to take the salesperson approach…but I firmly state what the Church teaches and try to make it understandable. It is a challenge, but an enjoyable challenge.

Wednesday and today have been fairly “normal” days. Nothing really noteworthy … last night I took a walk with David. We took pictures, chewed on some sweet grass together, and then I sat reading while he showed me how wonderfully he rides his two-wheeled bike. 😀

Lately, even on the times that understanding the harmony of attachment to God and attachment to man eludes me most, I seem to grasp an understanding that I never had before. I value family and friendship more than I ever have before … and at the same time I am better able to remember that all the little breaths of each day are a gift from God. It is my hope and prayer that I can grow even closer to God, and it makes more sense to me now than ever before how God has willed us to move together towards Him in friendship with others. It is such a beautiful thought…

“You are precious in my eyes and I love you.” ~ Isaiah 43:4

2 thoughts on “"My heart…

  1. Migue says:

    I just love this part “I value family and friendship more than I ever have before … and at the same time I am better able to remember that all the little breaths of each day are a gift from God. It is my hope and prayer that I can grow even closer to God, and it makes more sense to me now than ever before how God has willed us to move together towards Him in friendship with others. It is such a beautiful thought…
    “You are precious in my eyes and I love you.” ~ Isaiah 43:4 “

    I think that friendship and family are all that you need after God…
    God Bless and keep posting Lisa 😉

  2. Alain-Blaise N. says:

    That makes me want to visit a shrine. Hard to believe that we don’t have a shrine in Canada! But a friend is helping me to make a room shrine. No escape from our MTA. All who read this pray for me:)

Leave a Reply

